
 

(R & A Decisions on the Rules of Golf 2009 – 2010) 
 

 

Rule 20-1/11 – Lifting & Marking Ball 
 

20-1 / 11 Ball Marker in Position to Assist Another Player: 

Question/Example: A player marks the position of his ball on the putting green and the ball marker is so 

located that it might be of assistance to the opponent or a fellow-competitor in lining up his putt.  

Accordingly, the player prepares to move his ball-marker one or two clubhead-lengths to the side, but the 

opponent or fellow-competitor says he wants the ball-marker left where it is.  What is the ruling? 

 

Answer: The player is entitled to move his ball-marker to the side.  The opponent or fellow-competitor 

may not insist on it being left where it is in view of the purposes of Rules 8-2b and 22-1. 

 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

Rule 7-2/8 & 7-2/9 – Practice During Round 
 

7-2 / 9  Competitor Practices Putting on Green During Stroke Play: 

Question/Example: An 18-hole stroke play competition is played on a 9-hole course.  A competitor, 

having holed out at the 3
rd

 hole, plays a practice putt on the 3
rd

 green.  Since the stipulated round requires 

that the competitor play the 3
rd

 hole as the 12
th

 hole later in the round, is the competitor penalised for 

practising? 

 

Answer: No.  Rule 7-2 permits a player between the lay of two holes to practise putting or chipping on 

or near the putting green of the hole last played. 

 

 

7-2 / 4  Hitting Practice Range Ball Back to Range: 

Question/Example: During play of a hole, a player saw some balls from the adjoining practice range lying 

on the course and flicked one back to the range with his club.  Is there a penalty under Rule 7-2? 

 

Answer: In some circumstances the hitting of a practice range ball back towards the range during the 

play of a hole would be a breach of Rule 7-2, but the casual flicking of arrange call, apparently only for the 

purpose of tidying up the course, is not a breach. 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

Rule 16-1c/4 – Repair of Hole Plugs, Ball Marks on Putting Green 
 

16-1c / 4  Repair of Spike Mark Damage Around Hole: 

Question/Example: A player’s ball lies on or near the putting green.  Before playing his next stroke, he 

taps down spike marks in the vicinity of the hole.  Is this permissible? 

 

Answer: No.  Such action would be a breach of Rule 16-1c since repair of spike marks in the vicinity 

of the hole might assist the player in his subsequent play of the hole. 

 

 

 

 

 

 



-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Rule 16-1a/1 – Touching Line of Putt 
 

16-1a / 1  Brushing Aside or Mopping Up Casual Water on Line of Putt: 

Question/Example: May a player whose ball lies on the putting green brush aside casual water on his line 

of put, or mop it up with a towel? 

 

Answer: No.  Such action would be a breach of Rule 16-1a (Touching Line of Putt). 

 

Note:  The ‘Line of Putt’ is the line from the ball to the hole that the ball is going to take when putted. 

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

 

Rule 16-1d/4 – Testing Surface of Putting Green 
 

16-1d / 4  Testing for Wetness of Surface of Putting Green: 

Question/Example: A player place the palm of his hand on the putting green behind his ball to determine 

if the green was wet.  He did not roughen or scrape the surface.  Was the player in breach of Rule 16-1d 

(Testing Surface)? 

 

Answer: No.  16-1d only prohibits rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the putting surface for 

testing purposes.  Since the line of putt was not touched, Rule 16-1a also was not infringed. 
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